Can I just brag?

So here goes a short and sweet PBM because I need to put it out there how awesome this week has been and for all of the reasons that were once super wrong in my brain.

pbm

Physically: I have not worked out formally for an entire week as of today. Last Thursday I got off the treadmill and could feel the joint in my hip that tends to give me problems giving me pain for the first time in a very long time. So I decided it was a sign that the stress of working out was too much. Like I said working out should never be a chore and for the past two weeks it was because I was constantly trying to find a place to fit it in and it wasn’t working too well. My hip still hurts so I think I will stick to my rigorous routine of getting to my classes on time through the wind tunnel of a drillfield while simultaneously holding my skirt or dress down. Yes my friends that is real life exercise.

It is a cold long walk and no it is not shorter than it looks. When you have 15 minutes between classes and you have to cross this and the other part of campus with my short legs…. let’s just say my pace needs to improve

Mentally: Well I am just going to say it, I feel pretty awesome in most parts of my life. So far I am handling all of my commitments, making life fun (which for me folks is indeed school- sorry but it is who I am, I would much rather be in a classroom than out partying), and getting to bed at a reasonable time. I have also challenged myself quite a few times but I will save that for the brags.

Brag!!! sssssss. That’s right I have many but to name just a few: I meal planned. I have hated meal planning since my recovery (one day I finally got fed up with writing it all down because I knew subconsciously I didn’t need that anymore) and thus avoided it. But now I see where it can be super helpful as long as you are flexible. And I was! Speaking of flexible I didn’t look at the clock and let it decide my meals. I let my situation decide when I ate them. I ate dinner at 5:30pm one night people… that is unheard of for me but for once the rational side of me won and I knew getting home at 10:30 was too late for dinner and 5:30 was the only time I had. Ok we will keep it at an even 3 brags so last one, I made my first smoothie this week and my first soup in this AWESOME mini portable crockpot. Quick convenient and delicious for lunches folks. OMG.

photo

It cooks while I learn! Hot lunch on the go!

It cooks while I learn! Hot lunch on the go!

Today is a pretty packed day. I love it y’all and wouldn’t have it any other way! Happy Thursday!

Thanks Hollie for the chance to brag!

16 thoughts on “Can I just brag?

  1. I agree – running around campus is totally a workout! Especially when you’re carrying like 2 heavy textbooks, lunch, and a laptop! πŸ˜›

    I’m glad things are so awesome for you! It can be hard to keep up a good mental state when things get stressful, so I’m so happy for you that you’re managing to balance it all.

    • Thanks girl! My backpack is always packed! I may not have arm strength but my back… it’s made of steel πŸ˜‰ It can be so difficult, I am pretty sure I was mentally exhausted this morning upon waking up. I now have been gifted with a large block of time in which I have nothing to do… I think that is the hardest part for me. I don’t know what to do with myself when I have free time

  2. No thank you, your posts always cheer me up and put a smile on my face.

    I love the fact that you don’t find working out to be a chore. It’s so enlightening! As we have discussed multiiple times, too many people do and it just makes me more sad then anything for them. The mass amount of brags also excites me. I love how much you are enjoying skiing, cultivating new friendships and all of it. Though I won’t lie…5:30 is optimal dinner time for me. Do you prefer a later dinner time? Glad life is going so well!

    • I am trying to make myself realize that if I feel like I have to do it then I really shouldn’t there are other ways to stay healthy and active than at the gym. I have always had dinner late due to dance, but I got into this problem over the past year of delaying lunch and dinner because I didn’t know when to have them. Got to the point that I was eating at 9:30 at night and finishing way too late. So it is hard to be like OK Shannon you have time now, eat, and you can always do work afterwards.

  3. I’m proud of you for being flexible! I had dinner at 5:45 last night because that’s when I got to the pool and well, I was just hungry after practice. I’m also proud of you for managing your time and ENJOYING it! It’s hard to enjoy it when you’re that busy but if it’s what you love, it isnt’ as bad. And not working out is huge! I’m committing myself to a long break from running (like 2 weeks…. maybe even 3 depending on how it’s going) this summer and it’s terrifying but I don’t want it to feel like a chore anymore. I think a break will solve that problem. Good for you, girl!

  4. Just by reading your posts over the last little while, it’s pretty clear that you’re feeling “pretty awesome” πŸ™‚ Glad to hear it, girl. And I seriously think it’s the sweetest thing ever that making life fun involves school for you – it’s those individual quirks that make people interesting, so own it big time.

    I’m a big fan of real life exercise. Ever since I gave up formal, scheduled workouts and just did my best to live an active life instead, I’ve noticed SO many improvements. Not only do I feel and look better (in my humble opinion, anyways), but not having that extra stress of “ohhhh, how am I going to fit a workout into my schedule” has been SO nice.

    Happy for you, hun πŸ™‚

    • I am trying to find that relief as well. I went to the gym for the first time yesterday and did it feel good? kind of (my hip is still aching) but at the same time I feel like my mind begins to focus on all of the wrong things. I am not sure a week off was enough for me physically or mentally. I may need to extend it a little longer which scares me a lot but that probably means it is the right thing

  5. BRAG AWAY GIRL! You deserve it with such awesomeness to share πŸ™‚ I love how flexible you’re learning/working on being…and your return to meal planning for scheduling reasons put a huge smile on my face…as does the fact that you love to learn! Always nice to meet a fellow nerd/scholar πŸ˜‰

    • Nerds unite πŸ˜€ It hasn’t been easy mentally to stay away from the gym. Physically it has been super easy because I can’t get there lol. We all know it is the mental battle that really makes it a fight worth fighting

  6. What what what a mini portable crockpot??? I die. And I want. Anyway, great job with the meal planning…it makes life so much easier right? I find it a chore to do so but I can’t deny the benefits and peace of mind that comes as a result. And great job on listening to your body and stoping exercise until the pain ceases. It’s sometimes tough to figure out where to draw the line on that exercise burn and true pain/injury but it looks like you already figured it out πŸ™‚

    • I got it from Target (best place ever). And it works awesomely and gave me one of my favorite lunches yet! O I know what is pain and what is sore! This is pain… making me slightly nervous but I know what to do. Rest and seek help if it continues

  7. YEAHHH this post makes me so happy!! You’re really kicking butt this year girl πŸ˜€ I know you’re loving school and your research and I’m glad it’s still fun and exciting and you haven’t let it stress you out yet. Props for taking some time off workouts, especially after feeling pain! And yeah….walking across a big campus while trying not to flash everyone in the wind, that is absolutely a workout! Love these crockpot meals too and that you didn’t let the clock dictate when you eat – timing of meals is definitely still something I struggle with. I think you should do a post with ALL of your brags sometime soon!

Leave a Reply

