Mid Week Marvels

Y’all this has been one heck of a week and I have so much exciting news!

    • Monday was so long I literally thought it was Wednesday by the time it hit 6pm and I was still on campus. I had woken up at 4am to head to the metabolic kitchen and help with the diet prep for the study my professor is doing. We are trying to study the effects of probiotics and and high saturated fat diet. It is hypothesized that the addition of the probiotic will prevent weight gain. Right now I am measuring and packing the client’s food each morning. Let me tell you what I was told- you cannot EVER be too anal when it comes to lab work! Every gram of bread counts people! But I am having a blast and feel like a real working girl!
    • Except I am not a full time working girl. I am a full time student. But I realized late Monday evening that I needed to drop my Medical Ethics and Human Experience class. It means I am ONLY taking 13 credits. But with two research things going on, tutoring Mondays and Tuesdays, group projects, TA for anatomy and physiology, and well life and sleep need to happen. So I did what was best for me. Some students may be able to function with my schedule outside of classes and take 15+ credits but I wouldn’t be able to do the quality of work that I believe my parent’s money is worth.
    • I am working with the head of the HNFE graduate department for my undergraduate research. Y’all I could not be more excited and nervous. How did this happen? This kind of thing doesn’t happen to me! But seriously it doesn’t. I am going to be working my little butt off! We are setting up the project outline Friday. Is it Friday yet?
    • I was really excited Tuesday night because I was going to be awesome and go to the gym and then to class. Shower stuff packed and I was in bed ready to conquer the day! Except we work with humans and humans are flawed my friends. The client was late and I did technically have time to hop on the treadmill for 30 minutes, shower and get to class but I would have been too stressed. The gym should never be a stressful experience. I think a lot of people could learn this lesson with me this semester. Sometimes life happens. Find another way to be active, clam your mind, and live life. The gym will be there tomorrow or the next day. I say this all smart but it is hard for me sometimes. Especially with the nation’s and my major’s focus on obesity and health. But I am healthy and busy and I have a great life and I get daily exercise walking literally all over campus (in the rain, sleet, or snow- I should deliver the mail). I used to revolve my life around the gym not I find time for the gym around the other things that are way more important (to me, I know sometimes exercise is the most important thing for some people and I respect that we all have our passions!).

  • I am also participating in GUMP- Graduate-Undergraduate Mentorship Program. I LOVE my graduate mentors. Two are participating in a new program here that is specifically designed for them to become college professors after their PhD. And the third is involved in metabolic research so of course I love her! They are going to let me shadow them in the lab this semester, attend classes with them, and just talk and ask questions! I am so happy I took a leap of ambitious faith and applied to be a part of this program!
  • I am really loving my classes and I think I am finding a direction for some future posts. I really want to share my passion of learning and I want to share my experiences inside and outside of the classroom. In Communicating with Food we are part of groups and each group gets a target population to research and develop meals and educational handouts for. I have Chinese American/Buddhist/Colon Cancer. This is going to be so hands on and eye opening! I also had to write an auto-ethnography about my food history and culture, which I plan to share shortly. I am just loving this semester honestly. Let’s just hope my go go go personality doesn’t get the best of me too often!

So my hope for this semester is to 1.) BE FLEXIBLE 2.) ENJOY MY EXPERIENCES 3.) Take a lesson I learned a long time ago at IHOP– Life is full of unknowns and imperfect situations. But I can get through it and learn from every experience good or bad. Who cares if I make one small mistake. Hopefully I take it and learn from it. I mean that is what school is about right? Learning!

19 thoughts on “Mid Week Marvels

  1. Oh man girl I can totally relate to this post. I’m glad I’m not the only one who’s too busy these days. I went to get my forms signed the other day for going over the credit limit and they made the process so complicated, I decided to drop a class. That puts me at 12 class credits and 3 internship credits. Lower than I’m used to for sure but mentally, we’re going to be so much happier. Take care of yourself ❤

    • When you drop a class for our reasons it is because we are busy getting real life experience! I am pretty sure you are busier than most of your friends. I know I am in the minority of college students waking up at 5am on a Friday in which they have no classes, but I made other commitments and they are learning experiences outside of the classroom!

  2. I loled a bit about deliverying the mail. As you know, I’m trying to pick up a second job and in Oswego they are ALWAYS looking for mail people…I’m not that much wanting to do it though. Anyways, I first agree with you. Working out should never be stressful and I wish people would learn that too.

    And 13 credits on top of labs, as well as the research you are heading..um let’s not even pretend that that isn’t just as much work AND MORE then other undergradutes. I find credits kind of like mileage in running, so you run X amount of miles a week..differently if it’s harder on a much more hilly terain…in wind ect. 13 credits is different when it’s upper division with labs, ect then 13 credits of 100 level classes.

    • I was hoping someone would laugh at my lame mail joke 😉 I am not sure I would want to deliver the mail either, they never get a day off! I wish the world would stop focusing on exercise extremes. What ever happened to walking from classes that are 1/2 miles apart being real exercise? I mean if you are training for a marathon or another race (like you and a few people around here) yeah you need to get those miles in but for the rest of us non-training healthy individuals just daily living should be enough. You are so right about the classes I am on campus every day from 7:30am-about 6-7 at night. And I am working during that time. I still have to come home and study later!

  3. Flexibility and enjoyment!!! LOVE it hun 🙂 Looks like we’re both working on similar things right now, which I think will be awesome for us in the long run especially…I love how passionate and excited you are about your major and goals, too, love…it’s wonderful to see and your love of learning will serve you well in all aspects of life 🙂 congrats on the gump thing too, girl! that’s amazing and well deserved!

    • Thanks girl! We are certainly working towards the same goals. I want to enjoy life, not stress over if I will or will not get to the gym that day. In the grand scheme of things it just doesn’t matter. What does matter is my mental and physical happiness and life. That happiness is not at its peak when I stress over the little things!

  4. I’m completely in love with your attitude, girlie – and I have to say that your enthusiasm is somewhat infectious 🙂 Love that you’re enjoying school so much, and love that you’re putting yourself first and not taking on more than you can handle – both with school and exercise. At the end of the day, keeping our stress levels down and our sanity in tact is one of the most important things, and easing up our workload is just as important as taking rest days from working out. It’s going to be a great term for you 🙂

    • Thanks Amanda! I have to say I will probably have to remember this when I get too stressed. I have taken on a lot outside of the classroom, but in the end school has to come first and sometimes I will have to speak up and say no I can’t do that. But right now I am milking every experience, making sure I do have some me time, and of course getting sleep. Honestly the gym is one of the last things on my brain. It was stressing me out more than school. Um I thought exercise was supposed to be fun?!? Which is why I am now concentrating on living life and moving when I feel the need to move from place to place.

  5. LOVE hearing about your research!! I’m really intrigued to hear the outcome of this study actually…I love my probiotic but more for GI comfort than weight lol. Glad you’re getting a lesson in adjusting and going with the flow of life – it doesn’t always work out how you want it! Honestly that’s even the case when you work at an endurance sports company…..sometimes a coach would come up to me while I was riding my bike on the trainer and he’d be like “I’m doing a physiology test at 9am, you free?” and I’d have to make the choice between ending my workout 15-20 minutes early and showering/eating. Lol. One day NEVER matters in the grand scheme of things! Proud of you for dropping the class too – I had to do that more than once in college, and it was always worth it – less stress AND better grades!

    • Yes girl you get me completely! I would hate to miss these opportunities because I had to get my work out in. Um this study is literally taking over Virginia Tech! It is HUGE! and started as a side project actually! I will of course be keeping you updated! I also get to see a muscle biopsy getting done!!! I can’t believe I am an undergraduate doing all of this!

  6. Wow you sound so busy! How do you do it all!?! It sounds like it’s a fun kind of busy though, and that’s what’s important! I’m glad you’re loving everything you’re doing. 🙂 And good for you for dropping that class – I’ve had to do that before too and it was really hard for my type A personality to accept that I couldn’t do it all. But it was definitely the right choice!

    • Haha well I will fill you in on how I fit it all in when I fill myself in! It is going to take some planning and sleep on my part that is for sure. Because I definitely will still have studying to do! But you are right it is the fun kind of busy (for me at least- some might prefer staying up and partying vs my go to sleep early so you can wake up to feed people or see a muscle biopsy being done) lol. I think dropping classes is hard for anyone to accept, remember when Rory from gilmore girls had to do it? I mean if she couldn’t handle a busy schedule who could!

  7. I am so so so happy for you and all these great opportunities in your life right now! You are one of those amazing students that I would always look up to while in college…you’re so active on campus and constantly striving for your dreams. I am so proud of you…all these activities are going to help you SO MUCH in the near future as you start your career. Being overly busy is definitely tough and trying but I know you are strong enough to manage your time well. Just make sure to dedicate time to yourself as well…you deserve it 🙂

    • Thanks Irina! I love being busy but I know the importance of down time too, I am making it a goal of mine to pick up a fun book about 3 times a week and I am watching a new TV show (well I am starting Once Upon a Time on Netflix!) the crazy thing is that I always looked up to those super active people in high school I never imagined I would be one of them one day!

Leave a Reply

