Week One DONE on to week two!

Hey everyone! I have successfully completed week one of Spring semester and I have to say I think it is going to be a good one! Now I don’t want to bore you with every detail of my days like I sometimes make my parents endure but I would like to highlight some of the past week’s happenings.

    • You might say my semester started out rather bumpy. When I first got back a swarm of emotions just hit me. I still don’t know the complete root of those emotions and the therapy session I scheduled got rescheduled to this week. I am pretty nervous about this session for a lot of reasons. 1.) I have only ever gone to therapy for treatment for an eating disorder. This isn’t because of the ED it is something else. 2.) I don’t know the therapist and have no idea if he (it’s a he and that freaks me out too) will be able to help. and 3.) I was embarrassed that I couldn’t handle these emotions myself. But then my best friend told me something I keep repeating. We get physical check ups, why shouldn’t we need mental ones too every now and thenAnd she is so right. This will help me mentally check in with myself and I will be healthier for it.
    • I am getting involved in research this semester! My metabolic professor from last semester is going to serve as my faculty mentor and help me to design a project I can begin working on this semester and continue into the summer! We are meeting again of Friday to finalize what I will be doing! Be prepared for lots of tweets and posts about my research! I will also be helping the dietitian on one of his current studies. We are feeding college age males a high fat diet and studying the effects on metabolism. I don’t have all of the details yet but I am waking up at 4am today to get to the lab at 6:30am and then I can hopefully give you all more details if you care.
    • My classes seem fun and interesting. Here is a list: Metabolic Nutrition (Vitamins and Minerals this semester), Medical Dilemmas and Human Experience; Communicating with Food; Health Counseling; and Communications (Public Speaking 101). Honestly We have only had 3 days of classes (I don’t have class on Fridays!) so I can’t make a judgement on how they will be yet.
    • I also can’t really give you insight as to what my daily life will look like this semester because I haven’t started tutoring yet and I haven’t gotten a schedule in terms of research yet. I made it to the gym every day except Tuesday this week. That probably won’t happen again until the end of the semester but you never know. By Saturday actually I was worried that my obsession with having to go to the gym was back and I almost didn’t go. Then I called my parents and they said go if I wanted to and make sure I can make myself stop and leave before it gets obsessive. So an easy run on the treadmill it was!
    • Cooper House! I finally made it to my college ministry Tuesday night dinner and will be going most Tuesdays this semester! After Atlanta I made it a goal to keep the connections and friends I made and this is a great way for me to stay friends with them and make new acquaintances! It will also give me flexibility practice because it is one night a week where I have no control over what I am eating for dinner. Sure I could wait to eat at home if I didn’t like the food but I am going to try to make it my goal to find something there each week.
    • Snow. It ruins plans. This bullet should be about me going downtown for a friend’s birthday on Friday night. But the buses stopped running and I wasn’t smart enough to think that I could have still gone and drove and not drank. Next time folks next time. But will there be a next time? I really hope so. Like I have said before I live in fear of being left out. I don’t know why but I tend to be the one forgotten or just not invited.

      SAM_0060

      Isn’t my campus pretty though?

    • Saturday night with my roomie. We painted out nails and watched What to Expect When You’re Expecting. It was the perfect night in my opinion. Yes I was in bed by 11pm which is not normal for a college student but it is normal for a college student who likes to wake up by 6 on the weekends! I enjoy my quiet nights and there is nothing wrong with that. But I really do need to make sure every weekend this semester isn’t a bunch of quiet nights.

Well that was longer than intended. Sorry. I am looking forward to this week because classes will really start up! I have a short paper due Wednesday along with a speech. O and did you see that I woke up at 4am this morning? Yup that I did which means hopefully I can get to sleep early tonight but with a meeting until 7:30pm that might be debatable. I hope you all have a magnificent Monday and a wonderful week!

17 thoughts on “Week One DONE on to week two!

  1. Your friend made such a good point about therapy! Our mental health is just as important as our physical health and sadly it’s an aspect that most people tend to overlook. I hope your session goes well!

    Also that research study you’re helping with sounds awesome! I find metabolic nutrition so so fascinating.

    • I was incredibly grateful for her wisdom! It calmed me so much. Thanks girl, it went OKish, I think it wasn’t really my fit for a counselor but I am not giving up. From my experience you really have to find your fit!

      O I looove metabolism and this study is awesome. And it is huge in metabolism right now. Wouldn’t it be great if probiotics could help with obesity?

  2. I really like that about mental health actually thanks for sharing. I honestly think that is such a good point and I never even thought of it. I hope everything is okay (and now I know why you were waking up at 4 LOL). Anyways, I’m really interested about the high fat diet and metabolism effects I cannot wait to hear what comes out of that.

    And going to bed at 11pm, after movie watching and nail painting…I really need to live with you guys. It sounds optimal to me. Sorry to hear your plans on Friday fell through, that is more obnoxious then anything (as someone who hates the snow probably just as much).

  3. The therapy point is a great one. I never looked at it that way. Hopefully it helps you figure out what’s going on inside that brain of yours!! I’m so glad you found an awesome research opportunity that you’ll love and I can’t wait to hear more about where this semester takes you! You’re pushing those comfort zones and challenging yourself in new ways. That’s awesome, girl 🙂

    • Thanks girl! It wasn’t my ideal session but I am going to try someone else. My brain is complicated haha. I am so excited for all of these opportunities and I am more comfortable after a week of being back and a weekend in my home here. I hope you are having a great first day of classes girl!

  4. What a great first week girl! I completely agree with your friend about therapy as a “mental checkup” and think it’s really neat that you’re going to talk to a guy. I understand why that makes you nervous but sometimes i think a male perspective is more clear and helpful than a female, so I’ll be interested to see how that goes. And I’m soooo proud of you for going to your ministry dinner on Tuesday! That’s a huge step, love. I sense a wonderful and growing semester for you 🙂

    • Thanks girl 😀 So the guy thing wasn’t for me I don’t think. Or it just wasn’t my type of session. So I am going to try another person next week! I am sensing a fast fast semester! that is full of excitement of course!

  5. I think you are walking into this semester a lot more self aware which I think will be what will set this one apart for you. even though you are busy I hope you can find ways to handle that stress and destress with your roomie a lot!

  6. LOVE what your friend said about mental checkups being just as important as physical checkups – I must say I’ve never thought of it like that but it’s so true! I’m glad you’re going in to see someone – I had to talk to someone my senior year after a rough breakup with the guy I’d dated all through college, and it was scary to open up so much (and it’s EXHAUSTING….I got back and my roomie would ask how it went and I just was like “i am so done talking, ask me tomorrow” lol), but it really, REALLY helped. I love that you’re making an effort to keep in touch with your mission trip friends and to get yourself out some weekends – but it is also important to take pride in those quiet nights!! I can only imagine how it must be at a big school like Tech, but even at William and Mary, I honestly couldn’t really handle partying or going out both weekend nights – I liked to go out on friday nights and then have saturday to myself or a girls night in with friends – and I felt GUILTY about it sometimes, like I was the only one not going out! Only now, after graduating, do I realize 1. I’m an introvert so of course I need more quiet time than others and 2. college is hard and stressful! and going out is stressful and of course you need a break and 3. you can have just as much fun IN as OUT – my two best friends and I used to make honmemade pizza and just eat it and drink wine and chat all night long and those were some of the best nights in college for me, the ones I miss most. Embrace ALL forms of fun and socialization! 😀 I think this semester is gonna be a great one for you, and I really especially can’t wait to hear about the research you’re doing!! NERDS UNITE lol

    • I always feel bad when I don’t expand to my roommate, but it’s because I am tired of talking at the moment! I think this will be really good for me. I have never been out before… I know but I to am an introvert. But I lack all of those friends to have those fun nights with. Kailey can’t drink yet but when she can I hope we have a few wine and pizza nights! (or pancakes in our case). I cannot wait to tell about the research it is awesome and like huge in metabolism right now. So many professors are apart of this project it is crazy. Something huge could come out of it!

  7. I am so excited for you to do research! I spent two semesters in college doing research and it was a lot of fun. It’s definitely a good change of pace from your typical schoolwork and I’m sure you will love it! I also really liked the way you described therapy…it really is like a mental check-up and I think it’s perfectly healthy to make it a habit if necessary. It looks like the start of the semester is going quite well for you (Except for the snow part…bummer sorry 😦 ), and I’m sure it will only get better with each week!

    • I am loving it so far and cannot wait to get in the lab too, right now I am doing diet prep for another study lol. I am seeing so many other parts of academics and it is official, it is where I belong!

Leave a Reply

