Off on an Adventure

I am off on my second trip of this holiday break! This time I am going with a group called Cooper House from my church in Hokieville (AKA Blacksburg) to Atlanta, GA to participate in a DOOR Ministries mission trip. This is my first mission trip, and I have no idea what to expect. We have our basic schedule, but won’t know what volunteer sites we will be going to in Atlanta until we get there Sunday night. I am really inwardly excited for this trip, and really outwardly nervous. I have no idea what to expect, only know 2 of the people going with me by name, and have no control over what happens and what plans are made.

 

 

I want this trip to be a learning experience. The first of many this year hopefully. Here are a few things I hope to gain during this week in Atlanta.

A relationship with God. I have this, but I want my faith to grow stronger, and I want to learn new ways to pray and talk to him. I want to encounter God. You hear about people going on these types of trips and feeling God and seeing him work in their life and the lives of the people around them. I want to experience this!

Friends. Like I said I don’t really know the girls I will be going with. The leader is my bible study leader and TA in metabolic and I love her. So I know I will be comfortable with at least one person. But I hang out with so few people at school because I am always studying that I have few opportunities to meet new people and form relationships. I will be eating, sleeping, working, and worshiping, and riding to and from Atlanta with these girls. I will have plenty of opportunities to break down my wall and make new friends.

Information. About me. I want to learn how I can be flexible with food, exercise, studying (yes I am bringing GRE study materials with me, it is a long ride to GA), and doing things spur of the moment. Because I know so many people are not like me and don’t like to plan every minute of their day. I am hoping this trip will kick start my search for balance and flexibility in my life this year.

So I leave with my mom for Blacksburg today (She is being awesome and driving with me out there and then coming back to pick me up next Friday night), and then GA on Sunday morning! I will not be bringing my computer with me as we will be sleeping in a church with other groups for the week. Plus I want to be experiencing social life- that means not using my computer, social media, and TV shows I could watch as a distraction from these wonderful people and God. I know my reader will be overwhelming when I get back. I am OK with that! I cannot wait to come home and see what all of you have been up to for a whole week!

12 thoughts on “Off on an Adventure

  1. THIS IS AWESOME, I can say one of the best experiences I had was going on a mission trip. Why? Because it is not about other’s relationship with god or showing it, it is about searching for how you connect with god. Enjoy, can’t wait to hear about it

    • O this makes my nerves go away ever so slightly! I signed up for this in October and have been waiting for when I would tell people. It was spur of the moment in its finest so I just know God will be there for me!

  2. Have a blast, love!! Soak up all the time and experience with yourself and others that you can, and I know we’ll be anxiously awaiting your recap next week 🙂 Be safe and open, darlin! Never know what will happen if you are ❤

    • Thanks girlie! I am very anxious to discover what this trip has in store for me! I will be working on being open the whole time and I’m hoping to come back excited and invigorated

  3. You’re goin to have the best time!!! Good for you for unplugging from social media and taking it all in. I hope you learn tons about yourself and come back refreshed and ready to tackle whatever life throws at you 🙂

  4. I hope you have a great time and I have a feeling you will. I’ll miss you and our daily chatting while you are down there but I know know know you are going to do great things. Try lots of coffee so I know if it’s worth a trip down there LOL! (kidding of course)

  5. YES! This is going to be such a good way to get started on your goals for this year, especially forming relationships!! I’ve been on two mission trips – one to Louisiana and one to West Virginia – and I made such strong friendships with the other girls and guys that I went with. Mission trips are fulfilling because they really put your life into perspective, and you sort of start to see that the things you place SO much importance on are really not things your life should revolve around. If that makes sense. Anyway, I’m SO excited for you and I think you’re going to get a TON out of this experience, both personally, spiritually, and socially!

    • Thanks Kate! I’m getting nervous and excited at the same time. I just hope I can be open to every experience this gives me because I have a tendency to close myself off to people and focus on the schedule and getting through things instead of just living. I want to live for once

  6. What an amazing experience! It’s these types of experiences that really help us learn to let go and just “go with the flow.” Sometimes you just need to forcefully step out of your comfort zone in order to learn more about yourself – it’s how we grow and acquire self-wisdom 🙂 Have fun girl!

    • It was such an awesome experience! And you are right it took going out into the city of Atlanta with people I didn’t really know to not only find out God is indeed working in my life, but also to teach me about me. Ah I am on cloud nine right now

Leave a Reply

