How Sweet are Sweet Potatoes

Y’all I LOVE sweet potatoes. They are what I consider a staple food. I always have one in the pantry ready to make into a simple meal that packs the nutrients.

What’s so Sweet? Um these are awesome. They contain a pigment called beta-carotene, the precursor to Vitamin A. AKA that awesome vitamin that helps our eye sight! But sweet potatoes don’t just come in orange varieties! Have you ever heard of a purple sweet potato? I have, but haven’t been so lucky to try one yet! Purple sweet potatoes contain a large amount of the plant pigments anthocyanins. I learned a ton about these pigments and many others last semester in Science of Food. Both beta-carotene and anthocyanin are great antioxidants because they contain delocalized pi electrons. That means they easily donate electrons and help prevent the formation of free radicals in the body.

But I don’t eat things solely because they are good for me. There are plenty of nutrient packed foods that I just do not like, so I don’t force myself to eat them. But I have always loved sweet potatoes. I have not always been very creative with them. Seriously thank goodness for this girl who taught me that nut butters can go on top of sweet potatoes. Nut butters are packed with nutrients themselves, but they deserve a post of their own.ย  The lessons didn’t stop there. This next meal I am about to reveal is my absolute favorite, which is why I tend to have it as frequently as possible (Read: whenever I have an empty almond butter jar) and I always have it before major tests/exams. I thank sweet potatoes for my performance this year in all of my classes (well sweet potatoes and a good deal of studying before their consumption)

The Sweet Potato in a Jar!

100_1551

The Steps:

  1. Microwave a sweet potato for 5-9 minutes depending on the size
  2. Place half the sweet potato into the jar
    • I scoop it out of the skin and eat the skin on the side (that is where all of the fiber is so try to eat the skin!) but you could mash it up with the inside into the jar
  3. Sprinkle (or pour) cinnamon and any other spices on top
  4. Add half of your other chosen toppings
    • Sliced banana
    • Yogurt
    • Flaxseeds
    • Maple Syrup (a must in my jars!)
    • Honey/Agave
    • Anything else you think up!
  5. Repeat step 2 with the other half!
  6. Repeat steps 3 and 4!
  7. Close the lid, carry your simple (almost no dish) meal to your place of dining, and enjoy!

How do you enjoy your sweet potatoes? Have you ever put them in a jar?

What are your favorite/staple foods?

18 thoughts on “How Sweet are Sweet Potatoes

  1. Sweet potatoes are one of my favorite foods…pretty sure I could eat them every day (and I usually do haha). I’ve never had one like this before, but I will definitely be trying it, especially since my sunflower seed butter jar is getting dangerously low…

  2. Totally off topic but I LOVE your new layout! I think it’s new? Haha if not I’m just really unobservant I guess…

  3. This post sounds just like me! I’ve had a sweet potato with cashew butter the past three nights! They’re are just so good! I never thought about bananas on top, ill have to try that.

  4. I love sweet potatos. I also love peanut butter or yogurt on my potatoes. Both are are wins. It might take me a few months but then next jar of pb I go through..I’m stuffing it with the sweet potato and trying it out LOL

  5. Yesss I am sooo trying this! I have a near-empty almond butter jar already waiting in the fridge ๐Ÿ™‚ the sweet potato + nut butter combo is one of my favorites, and I also love to add coconut butter and applesauce. Yum!

Leave a Reply

