A Mother-Daughter Adventure

This weekend was needed. This weekend broke me from a rut of a routine. This weekend made me realize how lucky I am. This weekend did a lot of things. And it was all thanks to my momma.

Mom and I spent the weekend in Lynchburg VA for my Fall Break. I once lived here (for 6 weeks) and although my experience as a whole was not what I wanted or needed, Lynchburg made its way into my our hearts. And not because it is the one place I can go to get Bob Evans (although that is a plus!). It is because the city of Lynchburg is quite and peaceful, it has beautiful sites, kind people, and provides for an amazing weekend away.

We went hiking both days to see the sites of Lynchburg a little more. We got lost a couple of years ago on the same hiking trail. This time we picked a trail, looked at a map, and were successful in our adventure! Plus we found this great little garden dedicated to those who have had cancer affect their lives.

Lynchburg also has an AWESOME farmer’s market! I am stocked up on produce fresh from the farm! Squash, peppers, sweet potatoes, and of course apples!

Giant Sweet Potato!

Finally, Lynchburg has some awesome food. Highlights include Panera, breakfast at the farmer’s market, and dinner at Robin Alexander– We received our meal free of charge, which was completely ridiculous because the service was impeccable and the food was amazing. Next trip they can rest assure we will be back.

Pumpkin Pie Bagel- Mom let me try a little! yummy!

Cheap Walmart dinner of a sweet potatoes and PB and Co Dark Chocolate Dreams

Mediterranean Crepe- It is so cool to watch them make the crepes!

Appetizer- Con Queso dip!

Mom’s Swordfish dinner. OMG I need to get this next time!

My Chicken with goat cheese, spinach and tomatoes.

Mango Madness- Favorite drink so far!

Dessert to share- Delicious Apple Crumble

I am super sad to see the weekend come to an end. My mom is amazing, she centers me, and certainly helps me through the roughest of times. She is absolutely amazing. Thank you Mom for always being there for me and guiding me through my struggles. We have had bad times and good times, but no matter what you have stayed strong in your belief and faith in me. Because of you my life is full of once and a lifetime experiences that have helped to shape me into the person I am today.

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “A Mother-Daughter Adventure

  1. I am sooo happy that you had such an amazing weekend with your mom because I know the healing power of moms! I love your explanation of the relationship you and your mom have. That mother-daughter bond is precious and irreplaceable. I found that the older I get the stronger my relationship with my mom becomes. Growing up is a funny thing šŸ™‚

    • I am jealous of any time you spend in Lynchburg! It is one of my favorite places in VA. Haha I don’t think anyone is ever too old to have a boyfriend, then again I have never seen Sex and the City!

Leave a Reply

