Independence!

I hope everyone had a great Fourth of July!

I am 20 years young and have lived in this country my entire life and I know how fortunate I am. Both of my parents served in the U.S. Army and I am proud to be a military brat 😉

This was a very relaxing holiday for my family. It was weird that it fell in the middle of the week though. Both mom and I have work and volunteering respectively tomorrow but lucky Daddy is on complete summer vacation.  Needless to say waking up this morning with no alarm and being able to work out first thing in the morning was a tad strange. I just got back from Europe and I did not exercise as I do at home because all of the walking, hiking, and climbing was more than enough natural exercise! But at home I consciously make a commitment to my cardiovascular health. Plus I love riding the stationary bike while indulging in my shows (bunheads, pretty little liars, and my real love Grey’s Anatomy).

Anyway my morning workout got my writing head turning and I had the urge to write my last post immediately after I had showered and broken my fast 😉 But I felt like another post was necessary tonight to honor America’s birthday.

We grilled and had a truly American meal as a family! Now let me explain. My family doesn’t normally eat at the table together at the same time unless it is a really special holiday such as Thanksgiving and Christmas dinners. We did as a recovery tool for me, but with recovery i was able to let go of always having family meals. But not only was today America’s birthday it was also the first time in 4 years that my dad grilled a whole chicken for him, my mom, and me! So we made a great meal of it.

I made my epic, beautiful side salads. Both my parents agree that they really  are pretty substantial.

Spring lettuce, tomatoes, carrot chips, mushrooms, cucumbers, broccoli, almonds, and tomato basil feta cheese

The cucumbers and broccoli were grown right in our backyard thanks to Daddy!

The rest of the meal was my dad’s chicken and grilled yellow squash and my mom’s sweet corn. Delish!

The meal lacks color I know… my food selection and prep teacher might frown. But it was good. and obviously I’m not the only one who would like it… Hello Mr. George

The really great thing about this meal though was that at first sitting at the table all together was funny awkward. But then conversation flowed as it normally does and the meal was even better for it. We added the color the plate was sadly lacking.

The night ended with Mom and me watching Safe House which was kind of weird and hard to follow with a lot of shooting. But Ryan Reynolds is gorgeous.

We ended this great day American style! I baked Apple Cigars. We spotted the recipe in our local paper and I had to try it. I don’t like a lot of dessert like things (or really I can just take them or leave them) but apple pie is a different story. I love it. It holds great childhood memories. These babies are meant to be a healthy alternative. Now I am not huge of “healthy alternatives” because they never seem to match up to what they are replacing. These cigars were not and I repeat not apple pie but they were a great apple dessert. They do not weigh you down, and you get that great apple cinnamon taste sensation us apple pie lovers ❤ so much.

The outside is made from Filo Dough!

I hope everyone had a great 4th of July and got to spend it with family and/or friends! Remember what this day is all about! We are so blessed to live in this amazing country!

2 thoughts on “Independence!

Leave a Reply

